Namibia, Botswana and South Africa excel in livestock project


Namibia, Botswana, and South Africa have excelled in a joint livestock sector project under the African Union.

Agriculture Minister Carl Schlettwein revealed this at the conclusion of official talks between the Presidents of Namibia and Botswana last week.

Under the project, all three countries make use of foot and mouth vaccines, produced in Botswana.

SA's President Cyril Ramaphosa sworn-in 


South Africa's President Cyril Ramaphosa has affirmed his resolute quest to build a growing and inclusive economy that offers opportunities and livelihoods to all people.

Ramaphosa was sworn in as President, following his re-election last week and the subsequent formation of the government of national unity.

Namibia's President Nangolo Mbumba, President Joao Lourenco of Angola, and Nigerian President  Bola Tinubu are some of the leaders who witnessed the inauguration at the Union Buildings in Pretoria.

President Mbumba arrives at Waterkloof Air Force Base


President Nangolo Mbumba has arrived at the Waterkloof Air Force Base, outside Pretoria, in South Africa.

This comes ahead of Wednesday's official inauguration ceremony of South Africa's President-elect, Cyril Ramaphosa.

The ceremony, which is expected to start at 11:00 in the morning, will be broadcast live on nbc 1, courtesy of the South African Broadcast Corporation, SABC.

Waterkloof Air Force Base is an airbase of the South African Air Force (SAAF).

 It is situated on the outskirts of Pretoria and is the SAAF's busiest airbase. 

Green hydrogen a way to combat climate change in Namibia - SASSCAL


The Executive Director of the Southern African Science Service Centre for Climate Change and Adaptive Land Management (SASSCAL), Jane Olwoch, said green hydrogen is the way to combat climate change in Namibia in the future.

Dr. Olwoch said this at a Research Dissemination Meeting with SASSCAL Regional Tipping Points in Southern Africa, held in Windhoek on Thursday.

Dr. Olwoch said climate change and the globalisation of economic systems are enormous challenges for societies that demand global collaboration, cooperation, and a global perspective.

Missing trucker Vilho Njati found in Johannesburg


A Namibian truck driver, Vilho Njati, who was reported missing in South Africa, was found last night.

This was confirmed by the police attaché to the Namibian High Commission in Pretoria, Commissioner Reinhard !Haoseb.

Commissioner !Haoseb said he collected Njati from the Protea Glen Police Station in Soweto, Johannesburg, on Thursday morning. 

The police attaché gave a recount of Njati's ordeal. He was hijacked on early Friday morning as he was transporting timber from Durban en route to Namibia.

South African Coach Boosts Namibia's Table Tennis Hopefuls


The Namibia Table Tennis Association (NTTA) recently held the Junior Table Tennis Championship in Windhoek.

The event was highlighted by the presence of South African coach Simon Gologolo, who is assisting in selecting the national team for the upcoming Africa Youth Games in Botswana and the Region 5 Games in Angola.

The championship featured a strong participation of young players competing in singles, doubles, and mixed competitions.

Paulus Requires Financial Assistance To Participate


One of the long-distance runners, Linus Paulus, who is running under the UNAM Athletics Club, is seeking financial assistance to participate in the 49th Comrade Marathon in South Africa on June 9th.

Linus Paulus, a member of the UNAM Athletic Club in Windhoek, is a young, passionate athlete recognized by Athletic Namibia. He is dedicated to pursuing his career in long-distance running.

Namibia's Trio Nominated For Regional Annual Sport Awards


Three Namibians were recently announced as nominees for the African Union Sport Council Region 5 Regional Annual Sport Awards (RASA).

Lahja Ishitile, Ananias Shikongo, and Coach Letu Hamhola will be vying for top honors at the regional awarding ceremony in the Sportswoman and Sportsman with a Disability categories, as well as Coach of the Year, respectively.