The Keetmanshoop Town Council's management committee has a new chairperson as well as a new deputy mayor.

Easter Isaak replaces Johannes Nathan Vries as chairperson, while Annelize Knaus was elected deputy mayor.

Former deputy mayor Easter Isaak, who previously served on the council's management committee, was elected as the new management committee chair.

The reshuffling of the political office bearers follows a directive by the Landless People's Movement, which occupies the majority seats in the council.

Conspicuously absent during the election, presided over by Magistrate Unchen Konjore, were the town councillors representing the Swapo Party in council.

Photo Credits
NBC Digital News


Luqman Cloete